Rising every time we fall

Today was the fateful day of my consultation session with my PY1CL Essay Marker.

[Refer to my previous post: 48/100 for some background knowledge, but essentially I emailed the marker to discuss the things that went wrong with my essay and potentially adjust the marks I had received] 

Unfortunately, the conclusion was that my marks were going to stay the same. That really sucks but I’m not as devastated as I expected?? I mean yeah obviously I’m still not happy about my grades for this module but I’ve learnt so much from her just in that short half an hour consultation session. She’s taught me how to put the studies I’ve read in a useful hierarchy, how I should have a checklist for every study I read and how I should structure my essays for the upcoming summer exams. I’ve gained new insights that I’ve never had before and I’m really glad I insisted on fighting for every chance that I had. Although the outcome wasn’t the one I desired, I gained so much more in the process. 

And now I can finally understand why my marks had to stay that way. Because of my unconventional approach in writing the essay, it had the potential of scoring a high first. However, due to the lack of detail and imprecise analysis, it affected the strength of the essay to a greater extent than it would have for a conventional essay. In other words, I wouldn’t have scored so badly if I had chosen to do things the traditional way because there would be a reduced demand on drawing strong links between my points and evidence. Ohwell, I guess my risk taking this time didn’t pay off but in the words of Jason Mraz “you win some or you learn some”. 

I’ve learnt so much this time, so hopefully I’ll be able to win for my summer exams and the rest of my coursework. 

14 days to finals, let’s do this! 💪🏼💪🏼💪🏼

One thought on “Rising every time we fall

Leave a comment